Bits, Bytes, Kilobyte, Megabyte, Gigabyte, Terabyte

Good morning everyone and welcome to this week's Midweek Wednesday IT Blog. Hope your all having any awesome week.

Today I'm going to cover all things Byte, I will cover what each thing is and how much you can store roughly with each section. What's the best to get for different situations.

All of the above refer to different sizes of files, or there capacity of storage on devices such as Hard Drives, Xbox, PlayStation, Computers, Laptops, MacBook's.

Each section is built up from the other so they increment up in sizes, and each size has a different name given to it.

What exactly are these sizes?

A Bit is the smallest single piece of information, either a 0 or 1. In short they are classed as a Binary digits.

- A Byte is a collection of 8 bits

- A Kilobyte (Kb) is 1024 bytes

- A Megabyte (Mb) is 1024 bytes

- A Gigabyte (Gb) is 1024 megabytes

- A Terabyte (Tb) is 1024 Gigabytes

So when you see the size of a file or the capacity of a storage item you can see just how big the information is.

Emails and What Limit they have:

Generally when transferring items via email it's restricted to 25mb in Gmail or 35mb in outlook.

To be able to see the size of your file you need to find the file you are looking at sending, click on it once, then at the bottom of your window you will see how big the file is. For example the one shown below is highlighted and is 364kb in size.

By knowing this information you'll be able to see if you can send it in an email or whether you need to upload it in something like Google Drive and give that one person access to it.

What is equal to each size?

To give you a better idea on how many things each size is capable of, here are some guidelines for you.